Thursday, September 17, 2009

New Compound Editions Multiple

Compound Editions is very pleased to announce the release of our fifth multiple:

A COUNTRY ROAD. A TREE. EVENING.[wow.episode.01]
by Eve Sussman & Rufus Corporation
music by Lumendog [Geoff Gersh, Adam Kendall, Christof Knoche, Bradford Reed]
(image above is a selection of stills from the video)

A first installment of a series of pieces that make up the experimental film noir
White on White, A COUNTRY ROAD. A TREE. EVENING. is a 6-minute video that comes installed on the state-of-the-art ARCHOS 5 media tablet.
Set in 2016 in A-City, a future metropolis that bears a striking resemblance to Soviet 1970s, A COUNTRY ROAD. A TREE. EVENING. is a visual tone poem presented as a list of clues to be elucidated in future episodes of White on White (hence the subtitle [wow.episode.01]).
White on White
is a study of extremes, couched in a vernacular of nouvelle vague noir and futuristic fantasies. Through the language of cinema verité , experimental filmmaking, and the thriller genre, this fictional series examines the limits of personal and political utopias and desire.

After extensive research, Sussman selected the ARCHOS 5 player for this Compound Edition for its high-fidelity audio and video and internet capability. This last fact will allow collectors of this Compound Edition to continue along the White on White journey in the near future. As episodes of White on White become available fans of the work can collect them and have them streamed to their Archos player - thereby owning a limited edition film-in-progress and simultaneously becoming a co-producer of the final film noir.
Eve Sussman & Rufus Corporation
Original music by Lumendog
Geoff Gersh - guitar and electronics
Adam Kendall – keyboards & electronics
Christof Knoche - bass clarinet & electronics
Bradford Reed - pencilina
6-minute video installed on ARCHOS 5 media tablet
5" x 0.5" x 3.1"
Edition of 100, plus 10 APs
$450.00 for numbers 1-50;
$600 for numbers 51-100.

UPDATE: In my excitement over this piece, I almost forgot. For more information, visit the Compound Editions blog.

Labels: Compound Editions


Blogger nathaniel said...

Looks stunning, Edward et al - and bravo for the breakthrough of large editions / affordable standalone video art with player!

9/17/2009 08:52:00 PM  
Blogger Edward_ said...

Thanks Nathaniel.

I do actually feel this is a breakthrough model. Not only in terms of affordability (and extremely high quality in the art, as well as the player), but also in the anticipation of future interest in the project.

So far so good...they're selling quickly!


9/18/2009 08:09:00 AM  
Blogger Brent said...

I have to say that this method of distribution of video art is truly groundbreaking, and allows all kinds of models in the future for this sort of thing.

I have never imagined that both the content and the method of distribution would both be so important (and full of contrast, too).

From this my mind is racing to ideas of buying video art - to be placed on your display unit (*whatever it may be*) at home, in an office or wherever - updated as desired, and painlessly.

And the fact the art is set in 2016, but looking like 1970's Soviet Union is a nice contrast to this and the two opposing tastes (art and Archos player), to me, make a complex overall piece.

9/18/2009 12:33:00 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home